Author Topic: 9x18 Mak reloading question. Which data?  (Read 3306 times)

Offline billjohnso20

• Pistol Packin' Preacher
9x18 Mak reloading question. Which data?
« on: January 01, 2011, 01:32:29 AM »

This is for the seasoned reloaders on this board. I need some help.

With a phone call yesterday that my CZ-82 I sent for plating 3 MONTHS AGO :o is on its way home to me, I decided to load up some range ammo so I can take it to the range and put it through its paces. ;D

Anyway, I've been reloading now for a couple of years. With my acquisition of two CZ-82s, I've expanded to reloading the 9x18 Mak round. Up till yesterday, I was using the Hodgdon data at http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp. My load has been on the low side with Berry Bullets 95gr FMJ/Hodgdon        HP-38 3.4gr/Magtech 1 1/2 pistol primers. Last night I decided to use my Hornady 7th edition manual since I had a small amount of Alliant Unique I want to get rid of. But that's not the issue.

The issue deals with the fact that Hodgdon HP-38 and Winchester 231 are the same powder. I decided to look at my Speer 14th edition manual to see if the Speer manual had any Unique load data but it didn't. However, the load data for W231 caught my eye. In the Speer manual the load for a 95gr FMJ 9x18 Mak starts at 3.9gr of 231 with a max load of 231 being 4.4gr. Conversely, the Hornady manual has a start load of 3.3gr and a max load of 3.8gr which is the identical to the load data on the Hodgdon site for HP-38. Shocked The only difference in the load data is that Hornady put an XTP bullet on top and the Speer puts a FMJ on top of the load. Everything I find on line whether a HP or FMJ is used gives me the power load data of 3.3/3.4gr to 3.8gr of W231/HP-38.