Author Topic: Fiocchi 7.62 Nagant or 7.63 Mauser in a CZ-52?  (Read 3530 times)

Tall-Pine

Fiocchi 7.62 Nagant or 7.63 Mauser in a CZ-52?
« on: October 21, 2005, 10:17:51 AM »
The CZ-52 I just purchased is in the mail. After the sale, the seller claimed he got only a few mis-feeds using the surplus ammo but NEVER got a jam-up using Fiocchi non-corrosive ammo. He didn't say what caliber. I checked at Fiocchi.com and unless I missed something, Fiocchi only sells the 7.62 Nagant and the 7.63 Mauser rounds. :eek

The rounds I know to use are the 7.62x25 Tokarev.

Would firing the Nagant or Mauser rounds cause any damage? I wanted some feedback before questioning the seller any further.

This forum is great. I am new to CZs, but you all have already educated me greatly. You all helped me sselect my future gun(s) of choice. I will own a 75B as soon as my FFL can find one NIB with the 15 rnd mags.

Offline skucera

« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2005, 10:07:36 PM »
As far as I know, Mosin Nagant pistols shoot a different cartridge, the 7.62 Nagant; it isn't compatible with the 7.63 Mauser (a.k.a. .30 Mauser) or the Sovient equivalent 7.62 x 25 Tokarev.  I don't think the Nagant rounds would even chamber in our CZ 52's.  The 7.63 Mauser and the 7.62 Tok are extremely similar and either can be used interchangably if they're of new manufacture.  The specs for both show 1400-1450 fps velocities... but that is just specs.

Now, that doesn't mean you should use 7.62 x 25 Tokarev in your prized old C96 Broomstick Mauser, especially Warsaw Pact surplus.  The broomstick guys have anecdotal evidence that says that this ammo can be just a little more powerful than the Mauser spec really intended.  That is doubly true of Warsaw Pact surplus ammo, which has become chemically unstable in storage and can underperform or overperform, sometimes in the same lot.  I had some Bulgarian surplus that could be very uneven, and sometimes with spectacular fireballs in a dark range alley.