Author Topic: What's wrong with .270?  (Read 7824 times)

Offline ZardozCZ

• Recently returned to shooting and loving it!
What's wrong with .270?
« on: March 27, 2013, 07:19:55 PM »
I'm considering getting a 550 American in .270, but wonder why it seems like it isn't very often discussed on the forums. Doesn't anyone go with .270?

For instance, Gander Mtn has relatively bare ammo shelves, but I can choose between a dozen or more different brands and weights and bullet types in .270. Sure, it's a buck a round give or take, but it's on the shelf unlike so many other popular in-demand calibers.

I haven't deer hunted yet, but have a friend to take me once I get a rifle. I love my CZ452 Style, and think the brand is great value and well engineered and built, so thinking the American 550. I may not stay in Minnesota, so want something that can be effective on larger than white tail deer, I'm not very experienced so a flatter trajectory will help with longer shots (Wyoming, Idaho, etc) as opposed to dense woodlands, and there seems to be lots of bullet weights and styles to choose from for reloading for .270, so I'm thinking that would be a great caliber for better versatility. I don't want a safe full, just one good versatile rifle if possible.

Am I wrong in thinking .270? I wouldn't get a .223 at this time (I think that it's minimum for deer in MN) with no ammo available, or even bullets for reloading. .243 is still a little light for larger than white tail from what I read, but excellent for varmints. .308 is nearly as scarce as .223 (shorter action rounds are just scarce these days) so the longer action seems a logical choice, even in scarcity times like these. Yes it is more expensive, but I'm not going to shoot a lot, but want to shoot well so after learning the scope I choose and work at various ranges to be more adept, I'll likely just put it away between deer seasons.