Author Topic: 127gr Ranger +P+  (Read 3007 times)

Offline kobus

127gr Ranger +P+
« on: August 10, 2013, 01:07:08 PM »
i bought a box of Winchester Ranger law enforcement ammo today for SD.  i will test some of them over my chrono when i go to the range next Saturday.

anyone who fired these please chime in with you thoughts on this ammo.  i have never used them before and i'm curious to know how they perform.

i will also post my findings once i've tested some of them.
guns don't kill people. NINJAS kill people.

Offline Wobbly

• Administrator
  • Loves the smell of VihtaVuori in the morning !
Re: 127gr Ranger +P+
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2013, 02:38:29 PM »
I do believe the Winchester Ranger are specifically made for law enforcement. Expect a fast bullet with a lot of penetration. I surely wouldn't shoot these in a crowd !!
In God we trust; On 'Starting Load' we rely.

Offline Grendel

• Administrator
  • 'Live Long, and Prosper'
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2013, 02:50:33 PM »
I carry and shoot Win Ranger 124gr +p in my 226 for work. Can't say as I notice much difference between them and the BHA 147gr I used before. I changed because the Win was on sale but +P+? Meh. I wouldn't waste my money. FWIW, I can't imagine any department authorizing +P+ anything. Liability is too great
Corruptissima re publica plurimae leges - Tacitus

Inter arma enim silent leges - Cicero

I wasn't born in America, but I got here as fast as I could.

Offline JimThornTX

• It ain't easy being green.
    • Texas State Rifle Association
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2013, 11:14:44 PM »
I have some of this ammo. Shot in through my P-01. It is HOT. Don't have a chronograph and didn't shoot at a target for accuracy (was at the deer lease) so I can't comment on those aspects but I can definitely say it is a HOT load based on recoil.

« Last Edit: August 10, 2013, 11:16:22 PM by JimThornTX »
CZ 52
CZ 82
CZ 83 Satin Nickel
CZ 75 P-01 ODG
CZ 75 P-06
CZ 612 HD

Offline Xenogy