Author Topic: Wolfe springs for the PCR  (Read 996 times)

Offline CZNE

Wolfe springs for the PCR
« on: February 17, 2003, 06:50:32 PM »
I use an 18lb in my PCR and I believe ut83 (the PCR guru) uses a 20lb in his.  I don't shoot a lot of  P but the 18 seems to work fine and I'm sure the 20 would also.

I'm not an expert on this but I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night.  Wait a minute, no I didn't, I just made that up. :)

Offline ut83

« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2003, 06:26:44 AM »
If youre shooting FMJ....WWB UMC etc....the 18# spring will last forever and should function flawlessly.  If you get into the European rounds...Fiochi, S&B, Gecco, British Arm......etc. you may want to up it to the 20#...these are loaded like +P loads...some are hotter...Gecco, Brit.Arm. etc......
The 20# makes you thank God for the front cocking serrations on the slide until you get used to it......
Shoot well.....:smokin

Offline CZNE

« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2003, 11:07:51 AM »
Yup that's what I said, GURU.

Offline jj85

« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2003, 04:12:52 PM »
I just ordered an 18# recoil spring this afternoon.  I've got around 3,000 rounds thru my PCR so I thought it might be time for a change.  Will let you know how it functions.  From the input you guys have posted, I'm sure it'll work just fine.

Offline jeff c

« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2003, 09:54:30 PM »
Hello,

I just went to the range today and shot my PCR with my Wolff 18lb recoil spring. I was shooting Winchester White Box 100rd ammo.

I had a LOT of ftf problems with all 3 of my magazines. I reinstalled the factory recoil spring and had NO further problems.

Any idea's?

Thanks,
Jeff C.

Offline ut83

« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2003, 10:02:58 AM »
Yep.....your mag springs are slightly tired....You can use it like it is or get Wolff mag springs (+5%) and use the 18 lber...should work very nicely.
I always replace them in a set...they are designed to work togethor anyway.
Shoot well:smokin