Author Topic: P09 not cycling to SA  (Read 1014 times)

Offline Tyson0525

P09 not cycling to SA
« on: January 29, 2016, 05:14:51 PM »
I went to the range today and fired about 200 rounds through my p09. It shot great as always, but there were 3 times that during a string of shots, the pistol failed to cock all the way back to single action. It has about 5k rounds through it and have never had this problem until today. I am pretty sure it was an ammo problem as I was using magtech which I have never used before. Just wondering if anybody here has had this problem? It also has the CGW hammer.

Offline copemech

Re: P09 not cycling to SA
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2016, 01:19:04 AM »
Are you saying the hammer did not lock back in the cocked position?

Did the fired rounds eject normally? Did the gun feel normal when it fired? And not a light load?

I am not aware of issues with that round, although possible. However I am aware of a potential issue called sear bounce, in which case the sear may not catch the hammer in the rear position as I understand. I have not experienced this so cannot comment further.

I would consider calling David at CGW to discuss the possibility of needing the heavy sear spring install. I have them, just for insurance in both mine. O0

Offline Tanners Owner

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2016, 09:13:46 AM »
Agree w/ Copmech, but recommend trying a different brand of ammo first to eliminate that as a potential cause.

Most of my failure issues result from ammo & not the gun
Like a midget at a urinal, I'll have to keep on my toes

Offline Tyson0525

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2016, 10:20:21 AM »