Author Topic: Need help getting 308 on paper at 1K  (Read 405 times)

Offline MikeLW

Need help getting 308 on paper at 1K
« on: February 26, 2017, 01:47:14 PM »
Sorry no pics yet. I've got a few pics on my iphone but it quit playing well with my macbook and I'm not very good at tapatalk. I'll try again.

I bought the rifle I was willing to pay for and bought the scope that was on sale. Been having a lot of fun for 4 or 5 months working my way towards 1K yards.

Remington 700 Tactical 308 w/ 20" heavy barrel. 12" twist. Weaver 20 moa extended base zeroed at 100 yards. Weaver Tactical low rings. Vortex Diamondback 4-12 X 40 AO w/ 1" tube and Dead-Hold BDC. Caldwell bag set w/ walnut media.

Federal Premium Gold Metal Match w/ 175 SMK BTHP. I don't remember the actual muzzle velocity but the box says 2600 fps. My loads are 2.810 OACL / 44.4 Varget / 175 SMK BTHP / CCI Primer @ 2630 fps. They are a little longer than factory and jump a little less but anything I run makes a ragged hole at 100 yards.

I used the Vortex holdover dope for 10" steel @ 400 yards  and 12" steel @ 480 yards for a few range trips. This was my first time to shoot this far and it was a complete success.

Then I used the Federal Premium dope to dial up 8.3 moa @ 400 yards steel. Dialed up 12.0 moa at 500 yards steel. This was my first time to dial up and it was a complete success.

Today I Set up a 18" steel target and a 12" shoot-n-see on a 36" paper back at 1000 yards. My chart called for 39.1 moa but my scope only went to 39 and ran out of clicks. Three shots at steel and 3 shots at paper with no spotter / helper. I forgot that i was .1 moa shy but wasn't too concerned. I hit nothing. I could find no sign of a bullet mark or dirt scrape anywhere. My friend on the phone said he wasn't surprised because of the wind. It was probably an issue and I probably need to try again on a calm day. I wish I had more feedback from a miss like some indication.