Author Topic: Hello from Salt Lake City Utah.  (Read 168 times)

Offline Jester435

Hello from Salt Lake City Utah.
« on: April 13, 2017, 12:33:15 PM »
June of 2016 is when it all started. I was sick of lane shooting at indoor and outdoor ranges. I knew that Handgun Competition existed, so I decided to figure out how to enter the sport. I looked up IDPA and USPSA locally in Utah and quickly found that I could shoot a match every weekend of every month. I jumped right in with a glock 17 9mm a free holster and mag pouches from Comp Tac. I emailed all the Match Directors for 4 different clubs to see what I needed to do to shoot a match. All of them responded very eager to help a new shooter. I started shooting IDPA first and then USPSA. I still shoot both and enjoy shooting them both. It was rough at first learning all the new rules, but slowly I learned how to play both games.

I was invited to shoot the IDPA state match in Idaho. To my suprise I took 2nd place in MM at my first big match. I then started to take some one on one classes with a firearms instructor to see what I needed to work on. I had never shoot handguns on the move, but more just shooting for fun with friends or lane/range shooting. I had my first "Ah Ha" moment. I dont shoot glocks well naturally, but I shoot DA/SA hammer fired guns much better. I bought a CZ p09 urgan grey and the rest is history! I shot 2017 Berry's Steel Open Steel Challenge with my P09 in Hicap/limited and did very well. I then proceeded to be a top 5 finisher in my local clubs. I bought a P07 Urban Grey and a 75 SP-01 that had work done by Automatic Accuracy.

I have not been shooting 3-4 Matches a month since Jan 2017 and came in 2nd in my local IPDA match. I shot a classifier and missed Expert by 4 seconds, but we did shoot the classifier in the rain on a cold day. I am excited to shoot it again at another local club. I then shot a Small USPSA match and took 2nd overall and 1st in Limited with my SP01!