Author Topic: Drawing CZ SP01 Shadow from holster in ESP  (Read 1494 times)

Offline Brianr34

Drawing CZ SP01 Shadow from holster in ESP
« on: April 26, 2017, 10:26:41 PM »
I am new to the CZ platform.  My plan is to try my SP01 Shadow in ESP. 

Curious on how shooters disengage the safety.  During dryfire, I find it easiest to hit the safety at the same time I initially grip the gun in the holster.  Is there any concern that the impact of grabbing the gun could cause the hammer to drop and have the gun fire a round when still in the holster?

Offline 1SOW

• GO GREEN - Recycle 9MM
Re: Drawing CZ SP01 Shadow from holster in ESP
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2017, 12:10:12 AM »
Unless the pistol has something broken,  the only thing that drops the hammer is a trigger finger. 
I've seen that happen with an A Class single stack shooter as he pulled the pistol from a shelf just below a table top and shot the table top.  He was the RO and DQ'd himself.   :-\  He's also a pistol instructor and more.  In other words, IT can happen,  but it's the trigger finger.

Offline stater61

« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2017, 12:59:19 AM »
 I haven't shot in competitions in quite some time, but I would advise against that method as a general rule. I strongly believe you shouldn't start taking the safety off until the muzzle has at least cleared every part of your body including your feet, support hand-arm, etc.

I believe you should push the safety down after your support hand is already in position on the grip and you are pushing the gun out towards the target. You could have an oops and drop the gun during the draw or accidently hit a table top, etc. as was previously mentioned. 1SOW is also correct that it should not fire unless the trigger is pulled.....but I wouldn't tempt fate any more than I had to. Truthfully, I don't think it will save you any time at all in competition, CCWing, on duty or anywhere really.