Author Topic: Grip question CZ SP 01  (Read 1820 times)

Offline SW CQB 45

Grip question CZ SP 01
« on: August 13, 2017, 12:38:03 AM »
I am new to CZ and shooting my SP 01 in a match for the second time.

I am using the factory rubber grips and I have oversized hands/fingers.

I can bust through the fingers of 2XL thin leather gloves. I am not able to put any support hand touching the grip frame as my primary fingers cover the majority of the grip and so my support hands grips the top of my primary hand.

In a match today (100 degree temp), when I went to do my first mag change......my fingers felt stuck to the rubber panel when I tried to reposition the grip to depress the mag release.

I like the way the rubber panels grip but it slowed me down as it took extra second(s) to get my hand unstuck.

Is there any big hand CZ SP 01 (or similar) shooters out there and your preference on grip.

I don't want to start spending $75+ on a guess.

I like Pachmyers on my 1911 but the CZ rubber has a lot more stickiness than Pacs.

I like the read on LOK palm swells but know nothing about them.

thanks in advance
« Last Edit: August 13, 2017, 12:40:06 AM by SW CQB 45 »
The plaque for the alternates is in the ladies room.

Offline 1SOW

• GO GREEN - Recycle 9MM
Re: Grip question CZ SP 01
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2017, 12:48:31 AM »
I can't say what will work for your hand size,  but the LOK Bogies with the palm swell are not "sticky" in out 100+ degree weather in South Texas.  I had to switch back to the LOK flat grips with my short finger reach.  The texture is aggressive and actually feels almost soft to me.  There is notch cut for the mag release. I shot a match today and was soaking wet with sweat.

Wait for someone with big hands to reply,  but I like them after years of using thin aluminum grips with grip tape.  No tape is needed with these---for me. 

Offline SW CQB 45

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2017, 01:00:16 AM »