Author Topic: Durability of Ford's Master Blue finish?  (Read 2102 times)

Offline beanz2

Durability of Ford's Master Blue finish?
« on: February 13, 2018, 06:39:37 PM »
 I am seriously considering of retiring my old CGW SP01 as my class gun. I want to move up to a Shadow 2. While David and Scott are building me another S2, my class at Front Sight is coming up very soon.

I have a Master Blued S2 that David built me some time ago, but I am too afraid of scratching it because it is too beautiful. This class will involve probably between 300 to 500 times of drawing from the holster.   The holster I have on order is a Comp Tac, a brand new one to me which I do not know how gentle or rough it is on the gun's finish.

I also have a regular black-blue Shadow2 that David and Scott are building for me, but it may not be done in time for the class.

Has anyone been using their Master Blued gun for EDC, for classes or competition? How durable is the finish?

Offline fastlane604

Re: Durability of Ford's Master Blue finish?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2018, 11:23:15 PM »
I can't tell you about the finish but I do have two Comp Tac holsters. I like them but I do get wear on the finish at the muzzle from drawing. One gun has the stock polycoat and the other cerakote.  Even the cerakote shows wear.

Offline SI VIS PACEM PARRABELLUM

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2018, 05:12:24 AM »
Bluing is the prettiest gun finish bar none but it is also the weakest. Use it,shoot it,clean it and it will show wear.

Offline schmeky

« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2018, 08:51:13 AM »
What SI VIS PACEM PARRABELLUM said.

It is the least durable finish and will wear very quickly if holstered often. 

Beautiful, classy, timeless, but somewhat sensitive (sounds like an old girlfriend I had long time ago)  ;D

Offline Stuart

« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2018, 11:55:22 AM »
A good blue is best looking. it will look beautiful with holster wear. :)

Offline cdhbrad